Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join NPTA
Search goNPTA
News & Press: Press Releases

Tynes and Clampitt receive Linda Hartinger Award

Monday, August 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Stephanie Lanzarotti
Share |

B. T. Tynes of Strickland Companies in Birmingham, AL and Don Clampitt of Clampitt Paper in Dallas were honored with the Linda Hartinger Award at the recent 2016 AIPPM Summer Conference in Quebec City. The award, formerly called the AIPPM Founder’s Award, was established to honor the memory of Linda Hartinger, past President of AIPPM and Anchor Paper in St. Paul, MN.  The recipients were recognized for their contributions and leadership of the association.  Past recipients include Steve Rudin of Milton Paper, Kent Westhelle of Hudson City Paper, Morris Dennis of Dennis Paper, Michael Ramaker of Steen Macek Paper, Dave Powell and Dan Robinson of Omaha Paper, Don Crew of Clampitt Paper, Jim Belisle of Valley Papers, and Tucker Jones of Hudson Valley Paper.


B. T. Tynes graduated from University of the South – Sewannee in 1979. After successful careers in the insurance and coal business, he joined Strickland Paper Company in 1990.  Since that time, he has been instrumental in greatly diversifying Strickland’s product offering, which significantly increased Strickland’s revenue and necessitated a name change to Strickland Companies in 2000.  Under his leadership, Strickland has grown to six locations in three states.  The company provides fine paper, packaging, business products, office furniture and facilities supplies to thousands of customers across the country.  In 2016 the company celebrates 88 years in business.  B. T. Tynes served as President of AIPPM in 2004, and he currently serves as the Chairman of NPTA.  


Don Clampitt graduated from the University of New Mexico in 1979.  He joined Clampitt Paper Company in August of that year, and worked in outside sales.  Later he became Sales Promotions Manager, calling primarily on advertising agencies and design studios in the Dallas area. Don became involved with the Dallas Society of Visual Communications, International Association of Business Communicators and Dallas Ad League and was Bronze Quill Co-chair in the mid 1980’s.  He became Vice President of Marketing of Clampitt Paper in 1989 and continued in this role until becoming President in 1994.  He worked closely with his father, Max Clampitt, until his passing in 2001 when he took over as Chairman and CEO.  In addition to launching the Clampitt Creative Center in 2004, Don has grown the company to include 15 retail stores and six warehouse locations and expanded to Tulsa, Albuquerque and Kansas City.  In 2016 the company celebrates 75 years in business.  Don Clampitt served as President of AIPPM in 1998.  He also served as the Chairman of NPTA and received the coveted Stanley O. Styles Industry Excellence Award in 2014.


Please join the AIPPM in congratulating B. T. Tynes and Don Clampitt for earning this worthy recognition that honors the memory of Linda Hartinger.


more Events
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal